A Time for Everything

April 24, 2006

        Today I found an old Bible a good friend gave to me after I accepted Christ. I thought I had lost it forever; good thing I found today, because God just slapped me in the face while reading it!

The particular passage is 3:1-8 (NIV), "A Time for Everything."

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under heaven:

a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to
uproot,

a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to
build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to
dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time
to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to
refrain,
a time to keep and a time to throw
away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to
speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

        The speaker is a son of David, and is most probably Solomon or someone speaking from his perspective. (Teen Devotional Bible 773)

        Recently I've been having girl issues and the passage above helped remind me that life is far from over! It's not that I forgot to do my hair or can't drive well…specifically I've been having an issues with girls and particularly with one. During the fall of sophomore year I was fortunate to be acquainted with a very special girl. We talked consistently to the point where I felt I knew her goals and values and she knew mine. She had all the qualities I find desirable in a person of the opposite s-e-x: focused and passionate for God, a healthy chunkiness, a childish spontaneous ebullience, the eyes of a gentle unbathed gorilla, and a heart to accept my shortcomings unconditionally. Holding her in such high regard made me realize that I liked her; I had placed her upon a pedestal in my mind like Gatsby did with Daisy. Jajaja, now that led to many embarrassing events in my life I am willing to die to forget!
        I've made many mistakes in my life, and this is another notch on that belt of accomplishments. In order the quell the uprising of feelings, I tried to limit interaction to nonexistence. Destroying something you love, especially a priceless friendship, hurts. But the Bible tells us here that there are times when we must kill, in order to live. At one point in his life, Abraham was asked to sacrifice his most cherished possession in the world, his son. Abraham chose to deny himself what he wanted in favor of what God did.         Selfishly, I failed to recognize the pain I would inflict on others as well as the path I would inconsiderately force this great friend to take. I am not 100% sure if what I'm doing is right biblically, logically or any sense, but for me this was the hardest thing to do; I've found that the hardest thing to do is usually what He wants me to do. Reading this passage makes me think I'm doing what needs to be done, because sometimes you need to break bones and set them in their proper place before they can grow correctly. Although it may not feel good, sometimes it's what you need to do. Learn to take enjoyment from the plentiful gifts that God has already given, and learn to be satisfied with what you have. That is the only way you will ever be happy, to be content with what you have; that is a part of the core message the book of Ecclesiastes is advocating.

Leave a Reply

